13 C
Sunday, May 29, 2022

Supercars Bathurst 1000: Mostert/Holdsworth rating dominant win

Must read

- Advertisement -

The pair had been chic throughout the the 161-lap race, with a tyre scare within the first half of the race and a dicey second battling the Triple Eight vehicles within the second their solely hints of hassle.

In the long run the automobile had unbeatable tempo, Mostert capable of maintain off 2020 winner Shane van Gisbergen’s Triple Eight Holden in a straight battle throughout the final two stints.

Mostert is now a two-time Bathurst winner, this newest triumph becoming a member of his outstanding 2014 crown when Jamie Whincup ran out of gasoline on the final lap. For Holdsworth in the meantime it is a maiden Bathurst 1000 victory, his fourth profession race win and first win since 2014. 

It is also Walkinshaw Andretti United’s eighth Bathurst 1000 win, and first since Garth Tander and Nick Percat in 2011.

From pole, Holdsworth recovered from a barely sluggish begin by barging previous Tony D’Alberto (in Anton De Pasquale’s #11 Dick Johnson Racing Ford) on the Chase on lap one to seize the lead.

- Advertisement -

He then managed the primary stint till the security automobile made its first look on lap 17 when Thomas Randle put the #44 Tickford Mustang into the wall at Hell Nook.

That prompted a wave of first stops, Holdsworth persevering with for a second stint within the lead earlier than handing over to Mostert on lap 37.

Chaz Mostert, Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden

Picture by: Edge Photographics

On lap 49, Mostert’s left-rear tyre delaminated as he got here throughout Skyline. He limped again to the pits for an unscheduled cease, resuming in twelfth earlier than charging again into rivalry with a stirring drive throughout the fourth stint.

Cam Waters led within the remaining Tickford Ford from van Gisbergen and Brodie Kostecki (Erebus Holden) all handed their vehicles again to their co-drivers for the fourth stint, as Mostert cycled to the lead from Waters’ co-driver James Moffatt and Tander (in for van Gisbergen).

On lap 60 Mostert pitted from the result in hand his automobile again to Holdsworth, who resumed in sixth place. He then filtered again to the highest because the likes of De Pasquale (lap 76), Moffat (lap 77) and Tander (lap 83) all took stops.

Holdsworth led into the second half of the race earlier than pitting on lap 92 to kick off his remaining stint of the race.

That left Moffat main Tander, the pair operating nose-to-tail till lap 99 when handed again to Waters. Tander did likewise to provide van Gisbergen the #888 Holden a lap later as Holdsworth filtered again into the lead of the race.

5 laps later, the security automobile made its second look of the race for probably the most weird of causes – an echidna on the circuit. Holdsworth used that chance to pit and hand over to Mostert, who resumed behind van Gisbergen behind the security automobile.

On his remaining begin as a full-time driver, Whincup wound up third within the queue, which led to some fascinating formation flying from the Triple Eight vehicles a lap after the restart.

Mostert tried to spherical up van Gisbergen into Griffins, however the 2021 champion compelled Mostert huge in order that Whincup may sneak by on the Chopping.

De Pasquale adopted Whincup by, demoting Mostert to fourth, whereas Kostecki pulled an unimaginable transfer inside Waters on the best way to the Steel Grate for fifth.

Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdsworth, Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden Commodore

Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdsworth, Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden Commodore

Picture by: Mark Horsburgh, Edge Photographics

Mostert started his second fightback on lap 112, passing De Pasquale for third into Murray’s, proper earlier than the security automobile was known as once more when Jayden Ojeda hit the wall.

That prompted a wave of stops, during which Whincup misplaced out as he needed to stack behind van Gisbergen. Mostert, in the meantime, was the large winner as he short-filled to leap van Gisbergen.

Mostert shortly handed an out-of-sync David Reynolds after the restart to renew the lead, which he saved after a fourth security automobile when Jake Kostecki hit the wall on the Elbow on lap 121.

The race went inexperienced once more on lap 125, Mostert main van Gisbergen and Brodie Kostecki in what had boiled right down to a straight battle to the flag. Mostert did his greatest to bolt within the laps that adopted, reducing the quickest lap a number of occasions as he constructed a spot of two.5s over van Gisbergen.

The hole was extra like 5 seconds by the point Mostert got here in for his remaining cease of the race on lap 138, Van Gisbergen nearly clouting the wall on the best way into the lane when he adopted swimsuit a lap later. The highest two remained in the identical order, as Waters jumped Kostecki for third.

Two extra security automobile interruptions adopted when De Pasquale rolled to a cease within the Chopping with a suspected driveline difficulty, earlier than Whincup’s 2022 substitute Broc Feeney – who was operating a formidable ninth – smacked the wall at Sulman Park. 

Following that sixth security automobile, the race resumed on lap 145 with Mostert once more capable of hole van Gisbergen. He seemed as if he was going to need to accept second till a right-front tyre delaminated seven laps from dwelling, forcing him to limp slowly again to the pits and end an unrepresentative 18th.

All of that was nice information to Mostert, who was left almost 4 seconds down the highway from Waters as he cruised to victory, Waters and Moffat ending second regardless of a gasoline consumption scare because of a defective sensor within the remaining stint.

Kostecki and David Russell had been third, as Whincup and Craig Lowndes grabbed fourth. Bryce Fullwood and Warren Luff completed a effective fifth to cap off an unimaginable day for Walkinshaw Andretti United forward of Nick Percat and Dale Wooden.

James Courtney and Randle completed a outstanding seventh after a powerful restoration drive. Todd Hazelwood/Dean Fiore, Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard and Will Davison/Alex Davison rounded out the highest 10.

Supercars Bathurst 1000 – Race outcomes:

To observe…

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article