10.5 C
Thursday, February 29, 2024

Toyota GR Yaris Rally1 wins Autosport’s Rally Automobile of the Yr Award

Must read

- Advertisement -

The Yaris was victorious on seven of the 13 World Rally Championship occasions within the first 12 months of the hybrid Rally1 rules and scooped each the producers’ crown and drivers’ title with Kalle Rovanpera.

Autosport readers have voted the Yaris the very best rally automobile of 2022, forward of its WRC rivals the Ford Puma Rally1 and Hyundai i20 N Rally1, and the Dakar Rally-winning Toyota GR DKR Hilux. It’s the fourth consecutive time Toyota has taken the Award.

Toyota’s success was introduced on 4 December on the Autosport Awards at Grosvenor Home on Park Lane.

The Award was introduced to Toyota’s Keiichi Kondo by Robert Reid, the 2001 WRC title-winning co-driver and FIA Deputy President for Sport.

Earlier winners of the illustrious accolade, which was one of many first Autosport awards launched in 1982 and is open to rally vehicles competing from worldwide to nationwide stage, embrace the Audi Quattro, Group B Peugeot 205 T16, Lancia Delta HF Integrale, Subaru Impreza and Mitsubishi Lancer.

- Advertisement -

PLUS: The Group B pioneer that transformed rallying

Different classes determined by fan voting embrace Worldwide Racing Driver of the Yr introduced by Pirelli, Worldwide Rally Driver of the Yr, British Competitors Driver of the Yr, Rookie of the Yr, Worldwide Racing Automobile of the Yr introduced by Blink Expertise, Nationwide Driver of the Yr and Esports Driver of the Yr introduced by Motorsport Games.

Keiichi Kondo accepts the award for Rally Automobile of the Yr

Picture by: Motorsport Images

Additional awards, determined by knowledgeable judging panels, embrace the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Younger Driver of the Yr Award, the Gold Medal for lifetime legacy, the Gregor Grant Award for lifetime achievement, Motorsport Promoter of the Yr, and Esports Staff of the Yr introduced by Motorsport Games. Second of the Yr introduced by Bang & Olufsen and Autosport Williams Engineer of the Future are awards which have returned for 2022.

To search out out who our different Award winners are, go to autosport.com/awards

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article