14.2 C
Thursday, June 30, 2022

Tsunoda on verge of grid penalty after Monaco F1 reprimand

Must read

- Advertisement -

Tsunoda was summoned by the stewards after second observe for the Monaco Grand Prix over an incident with Magnussen exiting the tunnel.

Heading into the Nouvelle Chicane, Magnussen went straight on and ran near Tsunoda because the AlphaTauri driver negotiated the left-hand flip.

The stewards met with each drivers following the conclusion of observe, and located that Tsunoda had been given “ample and a number of warnings” that Magnussen was closing on him.

Nonetheless, they discovered that Tsunoda “nonetheless selected to remain on the racing line approaching Flip 10, forcing [Magnussen] to take evading motion by having to drive by way of the chicane”.

The stewards added: “Though it’s not widespread to impose penalties for impeding throughout free observe periods, this incident was sufficiently severe to warrant the penalty imposed.”

- Advertisement -

It marks Tsunoda’s fourth driving reprimand of the season, leaving him only one away from triggering a 10-place grid penalty.

Yuki Tsunoda, Scuderia AlphaTauri

Photograph by: Zak Mauger / Motorsport Images

In keeping with the sporting rules: “Any driver who receives 5 reprimands in the identical Championship will, upon the imposition of the fifth, be given a ten grid place penalty for the race at that Occasion.

“If the fifth reprimand is imposed following an Incident throughout a race the ten grid place penalty shall be utilized on the driver’s subsequent Occasion.”

At the least 4 of the reprimands have to be attributable to driving infringements. Tsunoda beforehand acquired reprimands for driving unnecessarily slowly in Australia qualifying, impeding Sebastian Vettel in Australia observe, and for impeding Charles Leclerc in Bahrain observe.

Tsunoda was left uncertain by what occurred with Magnussen, explaining that he had tried to let the Dane previous on the identical nook in FP1, just for him to remain behind.

“This this time I attempted to push on the chicane and let him by at Flip 11,” Tsunoda defined.

“Ultimately, he went straight once more. My perspective, that is the one place to go [past]. It is onerous to let him by.”

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article