6.3 C
Sunday, March 3, 2024

Vergne beats da Costa in all-DS Techeetah pole battle

Must read

- Advertisement -

In a one-sided finale Vergne put 0.817s over da Costa, setting a 1m08.523s as da Costa endured a wayward lap – arguably dropping his shot at pole with a slide at Flip 2 and confirming the outcome by lighting up the tyres within the closing nook.

Vergne put three tenths over Mitch Evans to e-book his place within the closing, easing the hole open over the opening pair of sectors earlier than ending the job in opposition to the Jaguar driver by doubling his benefit within the closing sector.

Da Costa cleared Edoardo Mortara of their semi-final, leaping on the Venturi driver’s slide via Flip 1 and utilizing it to construct a wholesome benefit, which was 4 tenths to the nice by the tip of the lap.

Evans breezed previous championship chief Stoffel Vandoorne of their bout, grabbing a niche of 4 tenths as quickly because the opening nook and largely retaining that benefit all through, save for a twitch at Flip 12 which allowed Vandoorne to claw again a tenth.

Vergne then pipped previous Pascal Wehrlein in a carefully contested quarter-final; the Frenchman held the benefit via the primary sector, however Wehrlein pulled two tenths again to prepared the ground by the shut of sector two.

- Advertisement -

However Vergne rallied as Wehrlein endured a lock-up, which moved the duel within the favour of the Techeetah racer.

Pascal Wehrlein, Porsche, Porsche 99X Electrical

Photograph by: Sam Bagnall / Motorsport Images

Mortara discovered two tenths over Jake Dennis to progress to the semi-finals, holding a 0.075s benefit via each of the opening two sectors earlier than discovering extra time on the finish of the lap to place the Avalanche Andretti driver onto the sidelines.

Within the final quarter-final, da Costa routed Sebastien Buemi with a lap over eight tenths away from the Season 2 champion – grabbing the quickest lap time among the many quarter-finalists.

Amongst these eradicated within the quarters, Dennis’ lap proved to be the quickest and thus takes fifth on the grid.

Wehrlein takes a five-place grid penalty after Porsche was granted permission to interrupt the seal on certainly one of his two allotted DCDC items, which means Buemi will assume sixth on the grid forward of Vandoorne in seventh.

Andre Lotterer didn’t make it into the duels for the primary time this season, lacking out by simply 0.003s to Buemi as Nissan e.dams claimed its first quarter-final place. The German driver nonetheless begins eighth after team-mate Wehrlein’s penalty is utilized.

Lucas di Grassi was the opposite huge scalp from Group A, taking solely the sixth quickest time of the primary 11 drivers to take to the circuit for qualifying forward of Nick Cassidy.

Robin Frijns didn’t set a lap time, having received a chunk of promoting banner caught in his rear-left wheel and thus failing to set the required lap within the opening six minutes of the session.

Berlin E-Prix winner Nyck de Vries missed out on a duels berth having been unable to prise Mitch Evans out of fourth in Group B, whereas FP1 headliner Oliver Rowland was additionally bumped out having been unable to enhance on his closing run.

Nyck de Vries, Mercedes-Benz EQ, EQ Silver Arrow 02

Nyck de Vries, Mercedes-Benz EQ, EQ Silver Arrow 02

Photograph by: Simon Galloway / Motorsport Images

De Vries begins the race round Ancol Seaside from ninth forward of di Grassi, whereas Wehrlein’s penalty strikes him all the way down to eleventh.

Neither NIO 333 driver was in a position to ship on the staff’s FP2 tempo, with Oliver Turvey 4 tenths down on making the highest 4 and Dan Ticktum encountering the chequered flag earlier than he may try a closing lap play for the duels.

Frijns begins from twenty first, forward of Antonio Giovinazzi who was additionally unable to set a consultant lap time after bailing on his final try.

Method E Jakarta E-Prix – Beginning Grid

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article