15.5 C
Monday, October 25, 2021

Warsaw. Chopin Competition 2021. List of participants in the second stage

Must read

- Advertisement -

45 pianists and pianists, including nine Poles, qualified for the second stage of the 18th International Piano Competition. Frederic Chopin. In the opinion of the chairman of the jury, the level of this year’s competition is “very high”. The second stage auditions will start on Saturday.

According to the director of the competition and the Fryderyk Chopin Institute, Artur Szklener on Thursday before midnight, by the decision of the jury chaired by Katarzyna Popowa-Zydroń, 45 participants representing 14 countries qualified for the second stage, incl. nine people from Poland, eight from Japan, seven from China and five from Italy.

Poles qualified for the next stage are Piotr Alexewicz, Adam Kałduński, Jakub Kuszlik, Mateusz Krzyżowski, Szymon Nehring, Kamil Pacholec, Marcin Wieczorek, Andrzej Wierciński and Viet Trung Nguyen representing Vietnam and Poland. We publish the full list of participants at the bottom of the text.

Canadian pianist Bruce (Xiaoyu) Liu Leszek Szymański / PAP

High level, more qualified

- Advertisement -

Artur Szklener, director of the competition, announced that the jury unanimously decided to qualify more pianists to the second stage. – In this way, they wanted to demonstrate their assessment of the very high artistic level of the participants of the Chopin Competition – he said.

Referring to the provisions of the regulations, according to which, “in principle 40 participants will be admitted to the second stage”, director Szklener explained that “this is a deliberately unclear wording”. – Because the jurors do not know the names of pianists at the time of making their decisions, but only the anonymous ranking list – he said. As he explained, “the jurors have at their disposal both the number of votes of all jurors to YES for a given person and the average calculated using a special scoring algorithm”.

– When you create blocks of artists who have very similar scores, then it is natural to decide on the border between the qualified and non-qualified between such blocks, hence the difference – he said. He informed that “this time the cut-off point was just before the 40th person, and after 39th and just after 45th. That is why the jury unanimously decided to qualify more pianists to the second stage”.

“Many great pianists have to say goodbye today”

Katarzyna Popowa-Zydroń, chairman of the jury, said that “the jury had a lot of work and had to make many difficult decisions”. – For almost half of the participants this moment will be happy, for half less, but for me this moment is also not easy, because the level of the competition is very high this year, so I had a hard time saying goodbye to many participants – she emphasized.

In her opinion, “this extended time, because it is six years since the last competition, meant that participants during the pandemic gained new life experiences and had additional time to work”. She emphasized once again that “she is sad that so many great pianists have to say goodbye to the Chopin Competition today”. – Every time a door closes, you have to look around because others always open. So I hope that those who drop out today will look around and see other opportunities – she added.

Chinese pianist Jiana PengLeszek Szymański / PAP

The most and least performed pieces

The most frequently performed pieces during the first stage of the competition are Ballade in F minor, Op. 52 and the Etude in G sharp minor, Op. 25 No. 6, according to data provided by the Fryderyk Chopin Institute, 18 pianists performed these pieces. 17 people chose the Etude in C major, Op. 10 No. 1 and the Nocturne in B major, Op. 62 No. 1. The Scherzo in B minor, Op. 20 and Etude in E flat minor, Op. 10 No. 6, were performed only twice.

The second stage auditions are held from 9 to 12 October. Director Szklener explained that “in the second stage of the Chopin Competition, the musicians play a different program, and each recital lasts longer”. – In the first stage, it cannot exceed 30 minutes, and in the second – 40 minutes. The main difference is the introduction of mainly polonaise and waltz dances, in addition, the participants play a large form, just like in the first stage – he added.

According to the director of the competition, “it is quite a serious challenge for every pianist, because the first stage shows the general pianistic preparation”. He stated that the pieces played “do not necessarily carry with them such a typical idiom of Polish or European music of those times”. – Reproducing these idioms, which is primarily the rhythm of a polonaise, is very difficult and allows the jurors to assess the pianist’s skills on a slightly different level or in a different layer, he said.

87 pianists and pianists played in the first stage

In the first stage 87 pianists and pianists competed, including 16 people representing Poland. Among those qualified for the main competition by the Qualifying Jury were: 22 people from China, 14 from Japan, 16 from Poland, seven from South Korea, and six from Italy. There were also representatives of: Armenia, Taiwan, Canada, Cuba, Latvia, Thailand, USA, Great Britain and Vietnam.

18th International Piano Competition The Fryderyk Chopin festival runs from 2 to 23 October.

Full list of pianists and pianists qualified for the second stage of the competition:

1. Piotr Alexewicz, Poland 2. Leonora Armellini, Italy 3. JJ Jun Li Bui, Canada 4. Michelle Candotti, Italy 5. Kai-Min Chang, Chinese Taipei 6. Xuehong Chen, China 7. Hyounglok Choi, South Korea 8. Federico Gad Crema, Italy 9. Alberto Ferro, Italy 10. Yasuko Furumi, Japan 11. Alexander Gadjiev, Italy / Slovenia 12. Avery Gagliano, USA 13. Martin Garcia Garcia, Spain 14. Eva Gevorgyan, Russia / Armenia 15. Wei -Ting Hsieh, Chinese Taipei 16. Adam Kałduński, Poland 17. Nikolay Khozyainov, Russia 18. Su Yeon Kim, South Korea 19. Aimi Kobayashi, Japan 20. Mateusz Krzyżowski, Poland 21. Jakub Kuszlik, Poland 22. Shushi Kyomasu, Japan 23. Hyuk Lee, South Korea 24. Bruce (Xiaoyu) Liu, Canada 25. Arsenii Mun, Russia 26. Szymon Nehring, Poland 27. Viet Trung Nguyen, Vietnam / Poland 28. Georgijs Osokins, Latvia 29. Evren Ozel, United States 30. Kamil Pacholec, Poland 31. Hao Rao, China 32. Sohgo Sawada, Japan 33. Aristo Sham, China / Hong Kong 34. Miyu Shi ndo, Japan 35. Talon Smith, USA 36. Kyohei Sorita, Japan 37. Szuyu Su, Chinese Taipei 38. Hayato Sumino, Japan 39. Yutong Sun, China 40. Tomoharu Ushida, Japan 41. Marcin Wieczorek, Poland 42. Andrzej Wierciński, Poland 43. Yuchong Wu, China 44. Lingfei (Stephan) Xie, Canada / China 45. Zi Xu, China

Main photo source: Leszek Szymański / PAP

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article