14.7 C
Tuesday, September 21, 2021

What to anticipate from the NASCAR All-Star Race at Texas

Must read

- Advertisement -

The annual competitors amongst lots of the Cup Collection’ high drivers is getting a dramatic reboot this yr, solely the second iteration of the occasion to be held away from its conventional base at Charlotte Motor Speedway since 1986 after the COVID-19 pandemic pressured the occasion to be moved to Bristol Motor Speedway final yr.

The race on 13 June will characteristic six rounds, totalling 100 laps. The beginning lineup for the primary spherical has been decided by a random draw, with 2019 All-Star winner Kyle Larson (Hendrick Motorsports) on pole forward of 2017 winner Kyle Busch (Joe Gibbs Racing).

The primary 4 rounds will likely be 15 laps every, earlier than a 30-lap spherical 5 and a 10-lap shootout to determine the winner.

At the start of spherical two, the sphere will likely be inverted by a random draw that includes a minimal of eight automobiles and a most of 12. Then, earlier than the beginning of spherical three, the complete area will likely be inverted.

One other random draw to invert the sphere (with a minimal of eight and most of 12) will happen previous to spherical 4, with the drivers’ cumulative end from the opening 4 rounds figuring out the grid for spherical 5.

- Advertisement -

The bottom cumulative finisher begins on the pole, second-lowest begins second, and so forth. All automobiles should enter pit street for a compulsory four-tyre pit cease throughout spherical 5.

The ending order of spherical 5 will then set the the beginning positions for the ultimate spherical – the place the winner will likely be awarded $1 million. A further prize of $100,000 is open to the quickest workforce on pit street in the course of the necessary pit cease.

Martin Truex Jr., Joe Gibbs Racing, Toyota Camry Bass Professional Retailers pit cease

Picture by: Matthew T. Thacker / NKP / Motorsport Images

There are 17 drivers already locked into the All-Star race by advantage of both successful a Cup Collection race in 2020 or 2021, or having beforehand received the All-Star race or a Cup title.

4 extra drivers will qualify for the primary occasion on Sunday by way of the 50-lap All-Star Open race and a fan vote.

The All-Star Open will likely be run in three rounds – two a number of 20 laps, adopted by a 10-lap shootout – with the three spherical winners advancing to the All-Star foremost occasion. Fan balloting will decide the ultimate driver within the area.

Tyler Reddick (Richard Childress Racing) will begin the All-Star Open from pole because the highest-placed driver within the factors standings who is just not eligible to mechanically qualify for the All-Star race.

Chris Buescher (Roush Fenway Racing), Matt DiBenedetto (Wooden Brothers Racing), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (JTG Daugherty Racing), Ross Chastain (Chip Ganassi Racing) and Bubba Wallace (23XI Racing) fill out the highest six on the grid based mostly on their 2021 factors.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article