13.5 C
Thursday, June 13, 2024

World Cup of Darts: Every part it’s essential know in regards to the annual staff occasion in Frankfurt | Darts Information

Must read

- Advertisement -

Simon Whitlock and Damon Heta can be defending their World Cup of Darts title

The World Cup of Darts takes place on the Eissporthalle from June 15-18 – dwell on Sky Sports activities. This is what it’s essential know forward of the expanded event below an thrilling new format.

Who’re the reigning champions?

Represented by Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock – Australia received their maiden World Cup of Darts title after surprising England and Wales en path to glory in Frankfurt final yr.

Heta and Whitlock produced a sensational doubles show to dump out five-time semi-finalists Belgium earlier than defeating four-time winners and high seeds England within the semi-finals.

The inexperienced and gold then claimed the title because of a 3-1 victory over Welsh duo Gerwyn Worth and Jonny Clayton within the last.

- Advertisement -

Who’re this yr’s favourites?

Take your decide! The highest 4 ranked nations – based mostly on the bottom cumulative PDC Order of Benefit rating of the 2 competing gamers – are seeded and can enter on the second spherical stage.

4-time winners England and Netherlands will start their marketing campaign within the final 16, alongside 2020 winners Wales and two-time champions Scotland.

Winners – £80,000

Runners-Up – £50,000

Semi-Closing Losers – £30,000

Quarter-Closing Losers – £20,000

Final 16 Losers – £9,000

Second in Group – £5,000

Third in Group – £4,000

Complete – £450,000

Which nation has the most effective pairings?

World Champion Michael Smith and Rob Cross will star for high seeds England, with three-time World Cup winner Michael van Gerwen and Danny Noppert set to fly the flag for Netherlands.

Gerwyn Worth and Jonny Clayton will bid to repeat their 2020 exploits as they symbolize Wales for a sixth straight yr, whereas Gary Anderson returns to associate Peter Wright for fourth seeds Scotland.

What makes the World Cup of Darts so thrilling?

Let’s return to 2012 when the duel between England and Australia was determined by way of a last-leg shoot-out. Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis appeared to have the title within the bag however Paul Nicholson and Simon Whitlock had different concepts.

We reflect on a dramatic PDC World Cup of Darts final between England and Australia in 2012.

Please use Chrome browser for a extra accessible video participant

We mirror on a dramatic PDC World Cup of Darts last between England and Australia in 2012.

We mirror on a dramatic PDC World Cup of Darts last between England and Australia in 2012.

What is the format?

With the highest 4 ranked nations getting into on the second spherical stage, the remaining 36 groups have been cut up into 12 teams of three for the round-robin first spherical – together with 12 seeded nations – from which every group winner will progress.

Following the completion of the round-robin section, the draw for the final 16 will happen on Friday night, as England, Netherlands, Wales and Scotland put together to enter the fray in Frankfurt on Saturday.

The highest 4 seeded nations can be pre-allocated into the draw bracket, with the 12 group winners to be drawn at random.

The second spherical will happen throughout a double session on Saturday, adopted by the quarter-finals, semi-finals and last on a bumper Finals Day in Frankfurt.

Group Stage – Better of seven legs

Second Spherical – Better of 15 legs

Quarter-Finals – Better of 15 legs

Semi-Finals – Better of 15 legs

Closing – Better of 19 legs

Group Stage Draw

Seeded via to Second Spherical
(1) England
(2) Netherlands
(3) Wales
(4) Scotland

Group A
(5) Belgium

Group B
(6) Germany
Hong Kong

Group C
(7) Australia

Group D
(8) Northern Eire

Group E
(9) Republic of Eire

Group F
(10) Austria

Group G
(11) Poland

Group H
(12) Canada

Group I
(13) Czech Republic

Group J
(14) Spain
South Africa

Group Okay
(15) Latvia
New Zealand

Group L
(16) Switzerland

Session Schedule

Thursday June 15 (7pm native time, 6pm BST)
Group Stage – First Matches x12
Crew 1 v Crew 2 from every group – match order TBC
Belgium v Finland
Germany v Hong Kong
Australia v Guyana
Northern Eire v France
Republic of Eire v Thailand
Austria v Denmark
Poland v Portugal
Canada v India
Czech Republic v Singapore
Spain v South Africa
Latvia v New Zealand
Switzerland v Italy

Friday June 16
Afternoon Session 11am (BST)
Group Stage – Second Matches x12

Loser First Match v Crew 3

Night Session (6pm)
Group Stage – Closing Matches x12

Winner First Match v Crew 3

Saturday June 17
Afternoon Session (12pm)

Second Spherical x4

Night Session (6pm)
Second Spherical x4

Sunday June 18
Afternoon Session (12pm)


Night Session (6pm)

Competing Nations & Pairings

Australia – Damon Heta, Simon Whitlock
Austria – Mensur Suljovic, Rowby-John Rodriguez
Bahrain – Basem Mahmood, Abdulnasser Yusuf
Belgium – Dimitri Van den Bergh, Kim Huybrechts
Canada – Matt Campbell, Jeff Smith
China Xiaochen Zong, Lihao Wen
Croatia – Boris Krcmar, Romeo Grbavac
Czech Republic – Adam Gawlas, Karel Sedlacek
Denmark – Vladimir Andersen, Benjamin Reus
England – Michael Smith, Rob Cross
Finland – Marko Kantele, Paavo Myller
France – Thibault Tricole, Jacques Labre
Germany – Gabriel Clemens, Martin Schindler
Gibraltar – Craig Galliano, Justin Hewitt
Guyana – Norman Madhoo, Sudesh Fitzgerald
Hong Kong Man Lok Leung, Lok Yin Lee
Hungary – Patrik Kovács, Levente Sárai
Iceland – Hallgrimur Egilsson, Vitor Charrua
India Prakash Jiwa, Amit Gilitwala
Italy – Michele Turetta, Massimo Dante
Japan – Jun Matsuda, Tomoya Goto
Latvia – Madars Razma, Dmitriy Zhukov
Lithuania – Darius Labanauskas, Mindaugas Barauskas
Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen, Danny Noppert
New Zealand – Ben Robb, Warren Parry
Northern Eire – Brendan Dolan, Daryl Gurney
Philippines – Christian Perez, Lourence Ilagan
Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski, Krzysztof Kciuk
Portugal – Jose de Sousa, Luis Ameixa
Republic of Eire – William O’Connor, Keane Barry
Scotland – Peter Wright, Gary Anderson
Singapore Paul Lim, Harith Lim
South Africa – Devon Petersen, Vernon Bouwers
Spain – Jose Justicia, Tony Martinez
Sweden – Dennis Nilsson, Oskar Lukasiak
Switzerland – Stefan Bellmont, Marcel Walpen
Thailand Attapol Eupakaree, Yong Gaweenuntavong
Ukraine Vladyslav Omelchenko, Illia Pekaruk
USA – Jules van Dongen, Leonard Gates
Wales – Gerwyn Worth, Jonny Clayton

Watch the World Cup of Darts on Sky Sports activities

Thursday June 15
6pm: Group Stage (Sky Sports activities Motion)

Friday June 16
11am: Group Stage (Sky Sports activities Enviornment)
6pm: Group Stage (Sky Sports activities Enviornment)

Saturday June 17
12pm: Second spherical (Sky Sports activities Motion)
6pm: Second spherical (Sky Sports activities Motion)

Sunday June 18
12pm: Quarter-finals (Sky Sports activities Motion)
6pm: Semi-finals and last (Sky Sports activities Motion)

The annual World Cup of Darts can be broadcast on Sky Sports activities and you may catch all of the motion from June 15-18.

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article