21.6 C
Sunday, September 26, 2021

WTR Acura wins to increase factors lead

Must read

- Advertisement -

Albuquerque certified on pole for the primary time and led the early levels earlier than handing over to Taylor, who drove comfortably to safe a 14.8 second win over the Chip Ganassi Cadillac of Renger van der Zande and Kevin Magnussen.

With solely two races remaining for the Daytona Prototype worldwide contingent at Lengthy Seaside and Petit Le Mans, the WTR pair now maintain a commanding lead of 100 factors over nearest rivals Pipo Derani and Felipe Nasr (Motion Specific Cadillac).

For the second race in a row, a strategic ploy by WTR’s sister Acura squad Meyer Shank Racing did not repay.

Dane Cameron and Olivier Pla managed to acquire some exceptional gas economic system, main for a complete of 53 laps (second solely to Albuquerque and Taylor’s 62 laps) in the course of the two hour and 40-minute race.

However with just one temporary full-course warning within the early levels, they needed to reduce their tempo dramatically and will handle no higher than fourth after beginning on the skin of the entrance row of the grid.

- Advertisement -

Derani and Nasr appeared set for second, though they had been clearly struggling for grip towards the tip of every stint, however with simply three laps remaining van der Zande pulled off an audacious cross on Nasr to safe the spot.

British pairing Harry Tincknell and Oliver Jarvis within the Mazda had been the one different unlapped crew in fifth, as Loic Duval and Tristan Vautier’s JDC Miller Cadillac ended a twice-lapped sixth.

#01 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac DPi: Renger van der Zande, Kevin Magnussen

Photograph by: Michael L. Levitt / Motorsport Images

A exceptional efficiency by Ben Keating and Mikkel Jensen introduced a transparent LMP2 class win for the PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA, with 2022 Peugeot Hypercar driver Jensen posting a brand new LMP2 lap document a number of tenths of a second sooner than the {old} DPi benchmark that had been set by Juan Pablo Montoya’s Penske Acura.

In GTLM, Nick Tandy and Tommy Milner mixed to lastly declare their first points-paying win for Corvette, main residence team-mates Jordan Taylor and Antonio Garcia.

Former Porsche driver Tandy had received the season-opening Daytona 240 qualifying race along with Alexander Sims, and mixed with Milner to win in Detroit – which additionally did not type a part of the GTLM championship.

For the second race in a row, Zach Robichon and Laurens Vanthoor had the measure of a intently matched GTD subject of their Pfaff Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R. Madison Snow and Bryan Sellers completed second aboard their Pail Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan, simply 5 seconds in arrears as the category championship protagonists completed fourth and fifth.

In consequence, Invoice Auberlen and Robby Foley (Turner Motorsports BMW M6) lengthen their factors lead over Coronary heart of Racing Aston Martin pairing Ross Gunn and Roman de Angelis, after the latter pairing began from the rear of the grid.

Laguna Seca IMSA consequence – 118 laps

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article