20.5 C
Monday, May 20, 2024

Max Verstappen wins Belgian GP from sixth on grid

Must read

- Advertisement -

Regardless of ranging from the third row, as a result of a grid penalty for a brand new gearbox, Verstappen labored his approach to the entrance by lap 16 – taking the lead from team-mate Sergio Perez (Crimson Bull), who’d led since passing poleman Charles Leclerc (Ferrari) on the opening lap.

2023 F1 Belgian GP outcomes

How the 2023 F1 Belgian GP unfolded

Leclerc held his pole place benefit on the run to Flip 1 to guide from Perez and Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes). Behind them, Oscar Piastri broken his McLaren on the opening nook in opposition to Carlos Sainz’s Ferrari and the wall on the within of the La Supply hairpin and was pressured out on the opening lap.

Perez quickly blasted previous Leclerc for the lead on the Kemmel Straight. From sixth, Verstappen rapidly vaulted to fourth after the Sainz/Piastri conflict.

Perez scampered clear by 3s, as Verstappen initially acquired caught in a DRS prepare behind Leclerc and Hamilton. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin) handed a hobbled Sainz – who had a gap in his sidepod – at Les Combes on lap 4, and the Ferrari then tumbled down the order and he retired simply after half distance.

Verstappen handed Hamilton down the within at Les Combes on lap six and drove across the outdoors of Leclerc three excursions later, placing him as much as second inside the primary quarter of the race.

- Advertisement -

Hamilton was the primary of the leaders to cease on lap 14, earlier than chief Perez and Leclerc stopped a lap later and Verstappen a tour after that.

Verstappen carved into Perez’s lead and caught him by lap 16, DRS-ing previous him on the next tour to hit the entrance nicely earlier than half distance.

Additional again, George Russell (Mercedes) handed Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) for sixth on lap 17, Stroll dropping additional spots to Pierre Gasly (Alpine) and Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) earlier than pitting for recent softs. Tsunoda then overtook Gasly.

Mild rain started to fall from lap 18, Verstappen virtually dropping management of his automotive simply after Eau Rouge because it started to accentuate. Nevertheless it proved to be a passing bathe, so the intermediate tyres remained within the garages.

Hamilton pitted for softs with 16 laps to go, inflicting Leclerc to react a tour later – however Lewis was hindered in his undercut try by having to move Alonso.

The Crimson Bulls rattled off their ultimate pitstops with out incident, Verstappen rejoining with a 9s benefit, which he prolonged to 22s on the end.

Behind Perez, Leclerc held off Hamilton’s problem, forward of Alonso, Russell and Norris. Esteban Ocon (Alpine) handed Tsunoda for ninth with a wise transfer at Les Combes with 5 laps to go after which acquired Stroll on the identical place for eighth two laps later.

Hamilton pitted for brand new medium tyres close to the top, and snatched quickest lap from Verstappen on the ultimate lap.

2023 F1 Belgian GP quickest laps

Cla Driver  Automotive / Engine   Time   Delay   Kp/h 
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1’47.305   234.978
1 Max Verstappen Crimson Bull/Honda RBPT 1’48.922 1.617 231.490
23 Alexander Albon Williams/Mercedes 1’49.841 2.536 229.553
27 Nico Hülkenberg Haas/Ferrari 1’49.907 2.602 229.415
24 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo/Ferrari 1’50.188 2.883 228.830
11 Sergio Pérez Crimson Bull/Honda RBPT 1’50.308 3.003 228.581
16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1’50.436 3.131 228.316
31 Esteban Ocon Alpine/Renault 1’50.439 3.134 228.310
2 Logan Sargeant Williams/Mercedes 1’50.486 3.181 228.213
10  77 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo/Ferrari 1’50.515 3.210 228.153
11  63 George Russell Mercedes 1’50.603 3.298 227.972
12  10 Pierre Gasly Alpine/Renault 1’50.911 3.606 227.339
13  14 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin/Mercedes 1’50.938 3.633 227.283
14  20 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1’50.993 3.688 227.171
15  3 Daniel Ricciardo AlphaTauri/Honda RBPT 1’50.994 3.689 227.169
16  18 Lance Stroll Aston Martin/Mercedes 1’51.297 3.992 226.550
17  22 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri/Honda RBPT 1’51.394 4.089 226.353
18  4 Lando Norris McLaren/Mercedes 1’51.682 4.377 225.769
19  55 Carlos Sainz Jr. Ferrari 1’53.138 5.833 222.864


Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article