13.7 C
Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Rosenqvist provides MSR first-ever collection pole

Must read

- Advertisement -

The 32-year-old Swede saved his greatest for final after pushing to a fast lap of 1m06.0172s across the 11-turn, 1.968-mile momentary avenue circuit, giving Meyer Shank Racing its first-ever pole within the IndyCar Sequence. It’s the sixth pole of Rosenqvist’s profession.

Rosenqvist managed to seize the highest spot by a slim 0.0039 of a second over Team Penske’s Will Power, who overcame two incidents earlier within the day throughout second apply to qualify second.


Quick Six qualifying

The combat started after Energy set the benchmark of 1m06.3993s earlier than pitting for a second set of used softer alternate tyres with three minutes left.

Marcus Ericsson was monitoring towards the highest spot earlier than shedding on a regular basis within the closing nook, ending up second after a 1m06.4039s lap with lower than two minutes to go.

The ultimate minute noticed Newgarden soar to the highest with a stout 1m06.1059s. Nonetheless, Rosenqvist was in a position to ship a 1m06.0172s lap to maneuver to first.

- Advertisement -

As time expired, Energy made a late push however fell simply shy at simply 0.0039 of a second to safe the front-row spot alongside Rosenqvist.

When advised of how a lot he missed it from the timing stand, Energy replied over the radio: “Story of my life recently.”

Newgarden’s try and additionally take get again provisional pole spot drifted away with a slight in Flip 8, hitting 0.0887s behind to take third.

Andretti International’s pairing of Colton Herta and Ericsson ended up fourth and fifth, respectively.

Reigning and two-time IndyCar Sequence champion Alex Palou put his No. 10 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda sixth.

High 12 qualifying

The preliminary tempo was set on the tougher main compound, with Newgarden main the cost with a 1m06.8155s lap within the opening three minutes.

Andretti International’s Kyle Kirkwood returned getting bumped earlier by dethroning Newgarden with a 1m06.6839s lap, however then he was knocked down by Herta with a 1m06.4677s flyer on the midway mark of the 10-minute section.

Newgarden pitted for the softer alternates change and was instantly despatched out with a transparent observe with 4 minutes to go.

The remainder of the sphere adopted shortly after, however Newgarden struck first with a 1m06.2014s lap. It was a mere seconds later, although, that Ericsson was in a position to jolt ahead to first with a 1m06.0546s flyer.

It was Palou who was capable of finding the primary sub-66s lap of the weekend after placing collectively a 1m05.9103s lap within the closing minute to set the mark for the section.


Herta returned to second at simply 0.0961s behind Palou to offer Honda a 1-2 within the High 12. The ultimate moments noticed Newgarden declare third, forward of Ericsson and Rosenqvist.

The final switch spot into the Quick Six went to Energy, who was a slim 0.0193 of a second forward of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Christian Lundgaard.

Six-time IndyCar Sequence champion Scott Dixon made a late lunge on the Flip 11 hairpin to attempt to make up time, however the last-gasp effort didn’t repay as he ended up eighth.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Armstrong was in a position to safe ninth, forward of defending race winner Kirkwood. Workforce Penske’s Scott McLaughlin, who was one of many stronger performers in each apply classes, fell to eleventh.

“We simply did not fairly hit it on that run, it is a bummer,” McLaughlin stated.

The No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda of Graham Rahal snagged the ultimate spot of the High 12.

Group Stage qualifying

In Group 1, Energy hit a 1m07.2883s lap on the tougher main tyres to guide working with lower than 5 minutes to go, 0.0073s forward of Rosenqvist.

The group filed into the pits to change to the softer alternates and return for a late change to advance.

Two-time Lengthy Seaside winner Alexander Rossi jumped to the highest with a minute to go together with a 1m06.8349s lap however was shortly dethroned by Rosenqvist’s flyer at 1m06.4019s after which went even faster the following lap with a 1m06.3372s efficiency.

Herta jumped to second at 0.1873s lap, forward of Dixon at 0.2569s.

Energy, Palou and Rahal additionally managed to advance out of the primary group. Rossi narrowly missed the reduce, along with his No. 7 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet off by 0.0439s. He certified better of the remainder in thirteenth.

Rookies Tom Blomqvist (Meyer Shank Racing) and Linus Lundqvist (Chip Ganassi Racing) locked up the following two spots behind Rossi.

Pietro Fittipaldi was tenth within the group within the No. 30 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda, establishing him nineteenth for the race.

Ed Carpenter Racing rookie Christian Rasmussen, Dale Coyne Racing’s Jack Harvey and AJ Foyt Racing’s Sting Ray Robb additionally didn’t advance and settled into the ultimate three positions of the group. The trio will begin twenty first, twenty third, and twenty fifth, respectively. 

In Group 2, Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward opened up the tempo on a set of alternates with a 1m07.2748s run. Shortly thereafter, although, the rotation started as McLaughlin briefly held the highest spot.

Kirkwood, on a set of the tougher main tyres, hit a 1m07.0110s lap to vault to first with six minutes to go. McLaughlin then fired again with a lap of 1m06.8211s to return again to the highest of the timesheets.

With lower than two minutes to go, Armstrong jumped to first with a 1m06.6821s flying lap.

The highest spot rotated 5 occasions within the closing minute as Ericsson, then Grosjean, then McLaughlin, then Kirkwood went prime earlier than Armstrong returned with a 1m06.1509s lap.

Ericsson was in a position to safe second at simply 0.0259s behind the 2023 IndyCar Rookie of the 12 months. Kirkwood additionally ended up shut at simply 0.0776s in third, forward of McLaughlin, Lundgaard and Newgarden.

The primary driver to not advance was O’Ward, who missed the reduce by 0.0449s.

“I wasn’t sad with it,” O’Ward stated. “We have been simply sluggish. I feel we missed the window a bit bit, simply not quick sufficient.”


Straight behind O’Ward was the Juncos Hollinger Racing duo of Romain Grosjean and Agustin Canapino. Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay was tenth within the group, lining him up twentieth for Sunday’s race.

Theo Pourchaire, making his IndyCar debut with Arrow McLaren substituting for the injured David Malukas, put in a decent tempo of 1m06.9722s, however was solely adequate for eleventh within the group. The Frenchman will begin twenty second.

Santino Ferrucci (AJ Foyt Racing) was thirteenth within the group working, forward of rookie Kyffin Simpson (Chip Ganassi Racing) and Nolan Siegel (Dale Coyne Racing).

Source link

More articles

- Advertisement -

Latest article